Local 911 Dispatchers Receive Get State Awards

   Laurens County 911 Dispatchers have received state honors. E-911 Communications Director Joey Avery presented the award-winning members of his staff to Laurens County Council last night, noting they received the honors during the state 911 meeting in late October.

   Those receiving state awards were recognized for their high level of professional work in handing the dispatching duties during the night of July 13th, 2011; when Laurens County Deputy Sheriff Roger Rice was fatally shot while working at the scene of a person wanted in a fatal shooting.

    Recognized as the South Carolina Telecommunicator of the Year was  Tamera Boyter. Joey Avery praised the job Ms. Boyter did handling critical communications during a very hectic time that night.

    The State Dispatchers also honored others working with her that night. The state award for the 911 Team of the year went to Tamera Boyter, Tavi Hughes, Kim Watkins and David Deitz.

     In addition to winning these top state awards, other Laurens County 911 employees were honored with the non-competitive “Palmetto Award.” These were Tavi Hughes and Kim Watkins.