Three to Receive the Henry Laurens Award

   Laurens County Council this week approved three county residents to receive the Henry Laurens Award. The recipients are to be recognized for their outstanding service to Laurens County.

  Councilman David Pitts nominated Dr. Jerman Disasa, honored for his many years as Director of the CHAMPS Program at Presbyterian College. Mr. Doug Stewart was nominated by Councilman Ted Nash. Stewart is owner of the Better Service Milling Company of Gray Court and is the County President of the Laurens County Farm Bureau. The third person nominated for the Henry Laurens Award from County Council is Mr. George “Sammy” Wham, who was nominated by Council Chairman Jim Coleman. Wham is Chairman of the Laurens County Airport Commission and has served as a member of the Piedmont Technical College Advisory Commission.

   Laurens County Council is to present its Henry Laurens Award to Jerman Disasa, Doug Stewart and Sammy Wham at council’s only meeting for next month, set for December 10th.

   In other recognitions at Tuesday’s County Council meeting, County approved a Resolution honoring Joe R. Babb, who has retired after 22-years of service on the County Election Commission.

   Council also held a moment of silence Tuesday evening in memory of our county’s fallen veterans.